2014 53rd Annual Banquet

The 53rd Ohio Huskie Muskie Club’s Annual Awards Banquet and Business Meeting

The 53nd Ohio Huskie Muskie Clubs Annual Awards Banquet was held on March 22, 2014 at Prime93 in Akron, Ohio.  The attendance was up significantly compared to recent years and all those in attendance were treated to good food, friends and laughter.  A total of 99 OHMC members and 10 vendors were in attendance.  We had a casting competition and a trivia contest as extra entertainment again this year.

During the business meeting, members voted on the lake nominations for our 45th Annual Open Summer Contest in 2015.  The winner was Piedmont Lake, with the event to be tentatively held on July 11th and 12th pending park approval.  Elections for officer positions were held during the business meeting.  The OHMC officers for 2014 are as follows; Paul Anderson, President; Jeff Ferjutz, 1st Vice-President; Rick Simpson, 2nd Vice-President; Tim Smith, Secretary; John Ringenbach, Treasurer.  We also added two new trustees, Mike Reed and Phil Ringenbach.  There are currently several vacancies on the board of trustees, so if you are interested, we could sure use the help.  Please see any trustee or officer.

Before the banquet meal started there was a pause for a moment of silence for all the club members whom had passed last year and for those individuals that are in the military and may be away from their families.  Next, we took a moment for a blessing of the meal by club member Mary Jill Harshey.  The food was very good with a buffet that included Beef Au Jus, Lasagna, Baked Lemon Herb Chicken, Green beans, Bean Salad, Garden salad, and Sourdough Rolls.   We all had a great time and lots of fun with the fish stories that were being told.

ODNR attendees were Mr. Scott Hale, Inland Fisheries Program Administrator; Mr. Rich Carter, Fish Management Executive Administrator; Mr. Curt Wagner, Fish Management Biologist District Three; Mr. Tim Parrett, Fish Management Administrator, Ms. Deb Walters, Fish Management Supervisor District Five; Mike Greenlee, Fish Management Supervisor District Four; Kevin Page, Inland Fisheries Research Unit Research Biologist.  Kevin presented updated information about the tag study to be conducted beginning later this year and as always he did a great job!

Everyone that attended received a custom bait created by Greg Them of Xtreme Muskie Lures as a  door prize.  A special thanks goes out to all the vendors that set up a booth at the banquet this year, and also all of the Ohio Huskie Muskie Club supporters who donated door prizes and prizes to raffle at this event.  Please patronize these companies as they make our events a success.  The following were supportive of raffle and door prizes.  Xtreme Muskie Lures,  Pearson Plugs, Musky Musky Fisherman Specialties, Jerry Rice, Jimmy’s Bucktails, Ziggie Custom Musky Lures, Marshall Custom Tackle, and Smokin Bones Baits.


Ohio Huskie Muskie Club Inc. Annual Banquet Awards Winners, for club member’s recognition of outstanding catches and achievements in the 2013 season.

H.E. Pooch Curry Award   (Largest musky by length only) was presented to Chuck Harmon with a 50.75” musky caught at Salt Fork Lake.

The Matthew Smith Memorial awards for juniorswere as follows:

Boys Release—Charles Neville with a 45.00” fish.

Girl’s Release—Ashley McCartney with a 40.00”  fish.

The Royalty Awards

King Trophy Division, a kept muskie, length plus weight by point system.

Greg Bozik with a 49.75” muskie caught at West Branch.

Queen Trophy Division, a kept muskie, length plus weight by point system. (None)

King Release —Chuck Harmon with a 50.75” caught at Salt Fork.

Queen Release –Linda Hannen with a 49.00” caught at Piedmont.

Mr. Muskie Award

Paul Anderson – OHMC member for his dedication, and continuous support of the OHMC.

Woman of the Year Award

Alicia Anderson – OHMC member for her dedication, and continuous support of the OHMC.

Overall Tournament Champion

Chuck Land caught six muskies with a total of 73.00 points in the four club events.

First Ever 50-Inch Award

Cliff Cherni with a 51.50” from Pymatuning.

Chuck Harmon with a 50.75” from Salt Fork.

Dr. Dunmire Plaque Awards

There were (27) Dr. L. G. Dunmire Plaque Awards recognized by the club for those anglers whom caught at least three Huskie muskies measuring 42.00-inches in length or longer. Greg Bozick (26), Patrick Klingensmith (23), Ray Hinchcliff Sr. (18), George Weber (12), David Baio (11), Chuck Harmon (10), Bob Marshall (10), Elmer Heyob (7), John Lent (7), Dennis Mitchell (6), Philip Ringenbach (6), Paul Anderson (5), Kathy Mitchell (5), John Ringenbach (5), Chuck Land Sr. (4), Fred Lederer (4), Brian Mitchell (4), Bill Schultz Jr. (4), Nick Smith (4), Dennis Braun (3), David Brown (3), Tony Crisp (3), Matt Foose (3), Linda Hannen (3), Jake Lederer (3), Josh Marshall (3), Sam Reichenbach (3)

10 or More Release Awards

There were (43) Plaques Awards recognized by the club for those anglers whom caught 10 or more muskies 30-inches in length or longer and released all of them.  Patrick Klingensmith (223), Bob Marshall (95), Greg Bozick (90), David Baio (85), Ray Hinchcliff Sr. (71), Bill Schultz Jr. (57), Chuck Harmon (56), George Weber (45), John Lent (43), Sam Reichenbach (34), John Ringenbach (33), Tim Ritter (33), Elmer Heyob (31), Dennis Mitchell (31), Kathy Mitchell (29), Dennis Braun (26), Chuck Land Sr. (22), David Brown (21), Linda Hannen (21), Nick Smith (21), Tony Crisp (18), Paul Anderson (17), Robert Basic (16), Jeffrey Ulanich (16), Josh Marshall (15), Randy Parker (15), Tom Hannen (14), Robert Neville (13), Fred Lederer (12), Brian Mitchell (12), Thomas Morris (12), Charles Neville (12), Phil Ringenbach (12), Bill Brant (11), Thomas DeVaul (11), Ray Elkins (11), Jim Cook (10), Glen DeVaul (10), Thomas Johnson (10), William Lambert (10), Jake Lederer (10), Ashley McCartney (10), Jerry Rice (10)

The banquet is now history and it is now time to start some actual muskie fishing, Thank you to everyone that attended and to all of those people that helped make the event such a great success.