IceBreaker Results

Last year Mother Nature smiled on the IceBreaker outing with sunny, calm 70 degree weather, this year she had more of a frown.  Greeting 30 + degree temperatures, strong northwest winds and snow, 28 anglers braved the conditions at Piedmont lake to hopefully catch some prespawn giants.  Even though Mother Nature may have frowned, not all muskie were in such a funk with 9 fish being caught and a few more lost at the boat.

The winner of the event was David White with a fat 48″ giant but his was not the only Huskie caught.  Rich Daniels netted a 45.75″ muskie, Steve Skebe a 45.25″ , and Donald Gutshall a 42″ Huskie.  Additional fish caught were George Keyser 38″, Jessie Wolford 38″, Rick Canastrano 30″ and David White also caught a 31″ and 33″.

A really big thank you for Chad Harmon and Tim Smith running the tournament and to all those brave souls who came out on a tough day.

Our next event will be the May Madness on May 14th at Salt Fork.  This one day tournament will be the longest fish wins the tournament with two side pools, a $5 big fish pool and a $35 Total Points pool.  Look for more information in late April.


David’s winning fish!

IceBreaker Tournament Saturday March 26th Piedmont


The first OHMC event of 2022 will be the Icebreaker at Piedmont on Saturday, March 26th.  If all goes well, we will not actually have to break ice to get to open water.  This time of year is prime for giants staging for the spawn. This one-day tournament is a big fish tournament with the winner catching the longest fish of the day.

The event will begin at 7:30 am on Saturday and concludes at 5 pm.  The winning fish must be at least 30 inches or greater.  The 1st place winner and any ties will receive trophies at our 2023 Banquet.  All fish must be turned into the Tournament Director by 5:30 pm at the Piedmont Marina parking lot.  Once registered, you can launch at the Marina or at Reynolds road.

The campground at Piedmont will be open for those who want to make a weekend of the event.  The bathroom, shower room and laundry are open year-round.  There may or may not be water directly to a campsite, we will not know until closer to the event. Here is the site to make a reservation:

You can register for the event one of 3 ways:

Register online at

the online registration includes payment thru PayPal.

Or mail your registration to OHMC, 17712 Edgewater, Lakewood, Ohio 44107,

Or register in person Saturday morning from 7 am to 8 am in the Piedmont Marina parking lot.

The entry fee will be $15 and there will be a big fish pool entry of $5.   Proceeds of this tournament will help fund the club’s contribution to the Minnow Fund.

We look forward to seeing you all there.

Here are the rules for the event.

IceBreaker 2022 Rules

The 2022 Banquet is in the history books

OHMC’s 61st Annual Banquet took place on February 19th at the SYB Party Center.  A total of 76 people participated in the event. We had a business meeting at 4:00 pm followed by the Banquet at 6:00 pm.  We were fortunate to have 3 representatives from the ODNR join us for the event.

  • Curt Wagner, District Three Fish Management Supervisor
  • Kevin Page, Fisheries Biologist, Inland Fisheries Research Unit
  • Scott Hale, Executive Administrator of Fish Management & Research

Also our newly elected slate of officers and trustees were recognized:

  • OHMC Officers
  • President – Jeff Ferjutz
  • 1st Vice President – Chad Harmon
  • 2nd Vice President – Rich Daniels
  • Secretary – Ken Proffitt
  • Treasurer – John Ringenbach
  • Trustees
  • Paul Anderson Past President
  • Fred Lederer Past President
  • Phillip Jarvis
  • Kyle Jones
  • Mike Reed
  • Phil Ringenbach
  • Tim Smith
  • David White
  • Rick Simpson


  • Social Media
  • Maggie Butara


We also presented and honored the winners of our Awards for 2021


2021 Event Awards 


March 27th, 2021

Piedmont Lake

1st Place – Bernie Klug

40.25” Muskie



May Madness

May 15th, 2021

Salt Fork Lake

1st Place – Phil Jarvis

41” Muskie



June 19th, 2021

Leesville Lake

1st Place – David White

45” Muskie




51st Annual Summer Contest

July 10th & 11th, 2021

West Branch Reservoir

1st Place – Chase Gibson

8 Muskies

101 Points

2nd Place – Neil Butara

4 Muskies

51 Points



9th Annual Minnow Fund Outing

September 25th & 26th, 2021

West Branch Reservoir

1st Place – Corey Zelinski

2 Muskies

27 Points

2nd Place – Jason Chalmers

2 Muskies

26.5 Points




2021 Overall Tournament Champion

Rick Thorp

7 Muskies


2021 OHMC Awards


Joe Blackwell “Mr. Muskie” Award 2021

Kevin Page

February 19th, 2022


Curt Wagner

February 19th, 2022



Matthew Smith Memorial Award for Juniors


Brock Bohley


West Branch, July 22nd, 2021

Cooper Marshall


Piedmont Lake, March 14th, 2021



Lucy Marshall


Leesville Lake, July 15th, 2021


Fifty Inch Award

Rick West


Piedmont Lake, June 26th, 2021

Charles Klingensmith


Milton Lake, August 19th, 2021

Mike McKenzie


Piedmont Lake, June 29th, 2021

Shelley Leglise


Leesville Lake, December 10th, 2021

Charles Alexander


Piedmont Lake, July 4th, 2021



  1. E. “Pooch” Curry Award 2021

Rick West


Piedmont Lake, June 26th, 2021


Queen Release 2021

Shelley Leglise


Leesville Lake, December 10th, 2021


First Name Last Name Count Dunmire
Patrick Klingensmith 307 67
Mike McKenzie 184 23
Bob Marshall 135 20
John Thompson 117 23
David White 102 32
Bill Schultz Jr. 98 14
Kyle Jones 94 35
Robert Basic 78 6
George Weber 78 17
Scott Donohew 56 15
Carl Conrad 55 3
John Ringenbach 53 14
Donald Gutshall 51 9
Chris Hoskins 50 5
Maurice Potvin Jr. 50 7
Jim Mayberry 47 12
Mike Wile 46 11
Charles Klingensmith 43 11
Thomas Morris 40
Derek Halas 39 3
Phillip Jarvis 38 10
Sam Reichenbach 34 5
Kevin La Roche 27 8
David Baio 26 8
Ray Elkins 22 4
Dennis Mitchell 22 7
Paul Shepherd 20 5
Neil Butara 19 3
Cooper Marshall 18
Jim Cook 17 5
John Proch 16
William Lambert 15 4
Chuck Land Sr. 15 5
Samuel Mitchell 15 4
David Simmons 15
Greg Them 15
Scott Hale 14
Josh Marshall 14
Kathy Mitchell 14 6
Mike Erwin 13 3
Patrick Andino 12
Chuck Harmon 12 8
Dave Flood 10
Mark Pauling 10
Brock Bohley 3
Brody Smith 3