5th Annual Minnow Fund Muskie Outing

The 5th annual Minnow Fund Muskie Outing was held May 6th & 7th, 2017 at Clear Fork Reservoir in Mansfield, Ohio.  Thirty (30) anglers came out to test themselves against all that mother nature can dispense on an early May weekend.  The rain was torrential and the wind had white-caps on even this small reservoir.  Temperatures dipped down to 35 degrees and somehow it felt even colder.

Even with the harsh conditions, spirits remained high as all participants knew that they were helping to support the best vehicle we have for demonstrating our appreciation for the muskie program in this great state.  We had raffles, some great food, and even better stories and companionship.  However in the end, the fishing was as you might expect given the conditions: Lousy.  There were only six (6) fish reported as being caught during the two day event.

Preceding the weekend activities, we had OHMC members that showed up to serve as a Friday fishing guide for our ODNR guests during our annual Division Day event.  Eleven (11) ODNR members came out to brave the elements and all walked away without a fish to show for their dedication.  That’s what this was, true dedication, to show up shows how much dedication they have to our program.  A huge thank you for coming out goes to; Curt Wagner, Kevin Page, Rich Zweifel, Nick Radabaugh, Tim Parker, Kevin Kayle, John Windau, Kurt Koschalck, Steve Niekamp, and Doug Sweet.  Also, an equally big thank you to the OHMC members that served as guides; John Ringenbach, Tim Smith, Elmer Heyob, Phil Cummings, Robert Neville,               Stephanie Neville, and Phil Jarvis.

For the weekend event the following fish were caught:  Jason Chalmers – 48.00” (22.00 Points) (1st Place); Matt Clark – 42.00” (16.00 Points) (2nd Place); Kyle Jones – 40.00” (14.00 Points) (3rd Place); Elmer Heyob – 39.00” (13.00 Points); George Smart – 35.25” (9.25 Points); Jerry Rice – 33.25” (7.25 Points).  All winners will receive their trophies at next year’s awards banquet.

2017 MFMO Group Photo

2017 MFMO Jason Chalmers

2017 MFMO Matt Clark

2017 MFMO Kyle Jones

2017 MFMO Jerry Rice

2017 MFMO Phil Jarvis

2017 MFMO Cross Bone Baits